Saturday, April 19, 2008

L. Frank Baum


Lyman Frank Baum was born in 1856, in new York. He was an author, actor and play director.
He was from a rich oil family.
He began writing very early, first with a paper he wrote with his brother.
At 17, he began to be instered in theater, but he was financially abused several times. So he occupied various jobs, while continuing in the theater field in-between.
In 1880, his father builds a theater and he then began to write plays and gathered a company.
In 1888, Baum and his wife moved to Dakota, where he opened a shop, Baum's Bazaar, but he would be soon led to bankruptcy. Dakota inspired him for the description of Dorothy's Kansas in The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.
After this, he tried himself to journalism and work for the local paper.
After the bankruptcy of the newspaper, in 1897, he published Mother Goose in Prose, which will have a little success but it allowed him to stop working and to dedicate himself to writing.
Dorothy was born in 1900 under Baum's feather and with the illustrations of W.W. Denslow.
The book had stayed best-seller for children for 2 years after it was published. With this success, Baum went on writing the adventures of the country of Oz, with 13 sequels.
He also wrote numerous books and short stories outside Oz, and under several pen-names : Edith Van Dyne, Floyd Akers, Schuyler Staunton, John Estes Cooke, Suzanne Metcalf, Laura Bancroft.

L. Frank Baum died in 1919, and was buried in the Forrest Lawn Memory Park Cemetery in Glendale, California.

Note : Baum hated his first name, and prefer to be called by his middle name, Frank, hence L. Frank Baum

If you want to know more about L. Frank Baum and his work, I invite you to read this complete article

Bibliography from Oz

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1900)
The Marvelous Land of Oz (1904)
Ozma of Oz (1907)
Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz (1908)
The Road to Oz (1909)
The Emerald City of Oz (1910)
The Patchwork Girl of Oz (1913)
Tik-Tok of Oz (1914)
The Scarecrow of Oz (1915)
Rinkitink in Oz (1916)
The Lost Princess of Oz (1917)
The Tin-Woodman of Oz (1918)
The Magic of Oz (1919 = posthume)
Glinda of Oz (1920 = posthume)
Queer Visitors from the Marvelous Land of Oz (1905)
The Waggle-Bug Book (1905)
Little Wizard Stories of Oz (1913)

For a complete bibliography

No comments: